drink coffee. read books. be happy.

Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonI’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Published September 16th 2014 by Dial Books.

Literary awards: Michael L. Printz Award (2015), YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (Top Ten) (2015)
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell.
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once. (Goodreads)
This is one of those books that can be purely a cover buy. I mean seriously how gorgeous is that cover?! *Nerd Alert* It has the best texture too. Last year when this book came out I was determined not to buy it solely for the cover (I do that enough already). Then I watched everyone rave about how amazing this book was. From what I could tell it was in the top 5 books of 2014 according to many #BookTubers. With so many people giving it rave reviews, and having a gorgeous cover I was sold. The hype was real!
The story is told from the duel perspectives of fraternal twins Jude and Noah. There’s been a horrible and tragic accident and this tells their story of things that happened leading up to the accident and after the accident. For the longest time Nelson leaves the readers in the dark — trying to piece together what happened, but it doesn’t take away from the beauty of the story, the writing, or the character development.
Characters-5     Setting-5     Plot-5     Conflict-5     Resolution-5
5 Stars
Jandy Nelson (author)Jandy Nelson received a BA from Cornell, an MFA from Brown in poetry, and another MFA from Vermont College in writing for children and young adults. A literary agent for many years, she is also a published poet. The Sky Is Everywhere is her first novel. Jandy lives in San Francisco.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *