drink coffee. read books. be happy.

June 2017 Fernweh Fiction | Cambridgeshire

June 2017 Fernweh Fiction | Cambridgeshire

Fernweh Fiction is a monthly subscription box  inspired by the Travelling Reader’s trips around England. They pick a book set somewhere in England, travel to the place where the book is set, gather locally crafted, book-related or place-related products, then parcel it all up for you so that you can take a captivating journey from the comfort of your own armchair. This allows the reader to further appreciate and understand the places in the book.

What’s in the box?
Each month you will receive a fiction book that is set in England and at least 4 book- or place-related items which complement your reading experience. You may discover an item from the locality or something from the story itself. Where possible, we aim to source our products from locally based suppliers or small business artisans to support the local economy. We only choose books published after 2010. There will be a different book and place each month so that you can take many fictional journeys.

Why Fernweh Fiction?
Fernweh (n.) an ache for distant places; the craving for travel; being homesick for a place you’ve never been. Fiction(n.) the class of literature comprising works of imaginative narration, especially in prose form. We combine the two in one neat box!

How much is it?
Month-to-month recurring boxes which include the monthly book and at least 4 items are £35. If you choose 3 month or 6 month subscription options, you will pay less money for each individual box in comparison with the month-to-month boxes.

 

This month we travel to Cambridge with The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood. What was included:

  • paperback copy of The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood
  • Kandula loose leaf Earl Grey tea
  • tea infuser with bicycle charm
  • rose gold enamel bicycle pin
  • velvet bookmark inspired by the novel
  • 6 Bellina chocolates
  • Cambridge greeting card

I did a full unboxing on my YouTube channel, so if you would like to see my reaction to everything and maybe get a better idea of what things look like I suggest checking that out.

Good news! If you decide to try out Fernweh Fiction you can receive 10% by using the code LAVENDER at checkout.

visit them: website | Twitter | Instagram

The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

purchase: Amazon

Part Secret History, part Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century, The Bellwether Revivals is a page-turning, romantic, eerie tale of genius and, possibly, madness; a stunning debut for fans of Sarah Waters, Donna Tartt, and Lauren Goff.

The Bellwether Revivals opens and closes with bodies. The story of whose bodies and how they come to be spread about an elegant house on the river near Cambridge is told by Oscar, a young, bright working class man who has fallen in love with an upper-class Cambridge student, Iris, and thereby become entangled with a group of close friends, led by Iris’s charismatic, brilliant, possibly dangerous brother. For Eden Bellwether believes he can heal — and perhaps more — through the power of music.

In this masterful debut, we too are seduced by this gilded group of young people, entranced by Eden’s powerful personality and his obvious talent as a musician, and caught off guard by the strangeness of Iris and Eden’s parents. And we find ourselves utterly unsure as to whether Eden Bellweather is a saviour or a villain, and whether Oscar will be able to solve this mystery in time to save himself, if not everyone else. (Goodreads)

Thank you Fernweh Fiction & The Travelling Reader for sending me the June box in exchange for an unboxing on my YouTube channel. I sincerely had a fantastic time exploring all the goodies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *