drink coffee. read books. be happy.

Birthday Book Haul

Birthday Book Haul

I was pleasantly surprised with how many books I got this year for my birthday. I have some generous friends. If you didn’t know I celebrated my birthday this past weekend on the 13th. So I had a birthday/Valentine’s Day super weekend.

Sylwia and I exchanged gifts last year and we did again this year. We’re both Aquarius so I think that’s pretty neat. This year she sent me Do Not Disturb by A.R. Torre, the follow-up book to The Girl in 6E which I absolutely loved! She also sent me Rat Queens Volume 2 which I have been wanting for quite awhile after reading Volume 1.

Do Not Disturb by A.R. Toree

Equal parts Dexter and 50 Shades, this is the eagerly awaited follow-up to the daring erotic thriller, The Girl in 6E, by A.R. Torre.

1. Don’t leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don’t kill anyone.

The rules were simple and I broke them.
Now I must face the consequences.
Everyone else must face me. (Goodreads)

Rat Queens Volume 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’Rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe

  • A brand-new, booze-soaked tale of the Rat Queens reveals a growing menace within the very walls of Palisade. And while Dee may have run from her past, the bloated, blood-feasting sky god N’rygoth never really lets his children stray too far.
  • Collects issues #6-10 of the smash-hit series, plus extras. (Amazon)

My dad is so supportive of my book collection and has sent me so many boxed sets that I could never afford to get myself. For my birthday he sent me The Mortal Instruments boxed set and I am so grateful. I recently read City of Bones and loved it, so I definitely wanted to continue in the series. The TV show has completely sucked so I thought I would rather dive into the books where I know things are better.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end. (Goodreads)

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

My friend Patti sent me the first 3 books in The Raven Cycle. She knew I wanted to have them all in hardback because the covers are so darn beautiful, so she sent me her copies because she wasn’t getting around to them anytime soon. Now all I have to do is make sure I add The Raven King to my collection when it comes out in March, or April, or when it hits shelves.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before. (Goodreads)

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Birthday Book Haul 2

Finally, my friend Brenda sent me two books and the cutest CRAFTEDVAN magnetic book mark. Keep an eye on my Instagram for pics of that. She sent me Unravel Me and Unite Me both of course by Tahereh Mafi. I read Shatter Me last year, loved it and definitely wanted to continue the trilogy and now I am one step closer in doing so.

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life. (Goodreads)

Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestsellingShatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Mefrom Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent andThe Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. (Goodreads)

So those are the books I got for my birthday! So grateful to my friends and my dad for making my birthday special. Love you all!

Bookish Problem #33



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *